In March 1935 a new private school was opened in Westville. It consisted of 6 pupils and one teacher and the fees charged were 12/6d per month. This sum covered the cost of books and writing materials and provided each pupil with a penny sucker on Fridays. From this humble beginning grew the four schools bearing the name Westville.
The school became a provincial responsibility in 1945 but was regarded as a country school. This was justified by the arrival of children in the morning on horses and donkeys and, very occasionally, on the front of a delivery bike.
In 1957 the school’s enrollment was 790. Two hundred and fifty-eight pupils were transferred to the present primary school in Westville Road and the old school (now Westville Boys’ High) remained to cater for pupils in the senior phase.
In 1960 the Junior Primary School on the corner of Saltfleet Road and Westville Road was opened. Our present school then became known as Westville Senior Primary School. The school has grown apace and boasts many facilities, which benefit the children in all spheres of their educational life.
The school motto is “UT PROSIM” which, when translated, means “WE SHALL SERVE.”
The Westville school badge is made up of three parts: a swan, a tree and a striped band. The badge serves as a link with the past. The white swan, with its neck encircled by a ducal crown, is taken from the arms of Wandsbeck, the European home of the original settlers of the area which became Westville.
The outspan tree commemorates the site of the first Outspan on the then main road between Durban and Pietermaritzburg.